Subject To Change

“Everything changes, nothing remains without change.” Buddha

.An Unexpected Guide

with 5 comments

It’s amazing how people who don’t know you or have nothing to do with you can change the way you look at life. It does nothing to them. They don’t gain or lose anything from it, but they just feel like doing something good. And they do it. That happened to me today.

I was walking back home and this guy (who I assumed was a trishaw driver) I know asked me if I would join him for a drink. I said alright since I hadn’t had one in a while. So then we started drinking. He asked me to play the guitar and then he started pointing out how I was messing up some bits. He was saying it was the cigarettes that were making my fingers shiver. He then went on to talk about the difference between alcohol and nicotine. And then he told me “Do not smoke cigarettes or joints or arrack.” If you have to just have a beer once in a while and maybe a cigarette or two with that. He said that’s all I would need. He told me to stop smoking and if anyone asks say “I don’t smoke”.

He told me that there isn’t much in this life but you have to make the best use of it. He told me to live for my family. For my brother and my mother, father, for my wife and my children. That I can go far if I give up all this. He said he was just trying to do good by showing me the way. We were both smoking at the time. I had finished mine. He then lit up a cigarette and passed it to me. I said “I don’t smoke”. I promised to him and on my mother and father that I will quit.

His name is Jagath. He lives close to my house. He works at the courts in Mount Lavinia as an apprentice to a lawyer. He hopes to move to Dubai next month. He’s trying to get a job as an ambulance driver. I hope he does get it. He asked me if I could just help him with one thing. Find him a cheap phone. All he wants is to be able to answer a call. I asked him what he wanted most about this life. He said “I hope that in my next life I will be able to build my own home and raise a daughter. That is all I want.” He was so genuine throughout the conversation. He had doubts as to whether I would smoke again. I tried my best to convince him I won’t. My parents must have told me not to smoke a thousand times, but the way this guy said it was just… I can not explain it. It was just so genuine. I wish I had recorded it. It was so unexpected. But I did take a picture though on my phone. So I will end this post with it.

Here he is : Jagath – the man that convinced me to quit smoking.

Image000

Written by *

November 14, 2008 at 6:30 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. damn dude…wish i had met a person like that…Good for u bro..but then again..its always a choice i guess…

    realskullzero

    November 14, 2008 at 11:11 pm

  2. Good ! Finally, here you are.
    Never smoked anything and I am glad. I get high on adrenaline and thin air on mountains. Drinks is another matter, I love wines from all over the world but the stuff from Italy are the best!

    kalusudda

    November 16, 2008 at 5:51 pm

  3. kudos to you. i know what you mean, sometimes the biggest life changing decisions are inspired by complete strangers. Jagath sounds like a wonderful guy. hope he finds what he wants. :)oh and hope u keep off the nicotine. if u can get through a week, i think u’ll make it all the way.

    who else but me

    November 17, 2008 at 9:10 pm

  4. Was he trying to stop you from taking his picture? Or just giving a really animated pose?!

    Scrumpulicious

    November 18, 2008 at 9:39 pm

  5. neither
    he was saying “Don’t smoke” 🙂

    Fallen From Grace

    November 18, 2008 at 9:40 pm


Leave a Reply

