Subject To Change

“Everything changes, nothing remains without change.” Buddha

.Music Defines Mood?

with 5 comments

No.

I remember listening to TNL once at night and the DJ asked the listeners if they agreed. I remember the opinions. Everyone basically agreed saying that when they’re in a bad mood music can cheer them up etc. I don’t agree that music defines your mood. I do, however, agree that there is a strong relationship between the two, but it’s more complicated than that.

In my opinion it’s your mood that first decides the music you listen to. Just now, for instance, I was in a grumpy mood and I was listening to The White Stripes’ Icky Thump album. I couldn’t stand it. So I let my mood decide what album to listen to. I went for Korn. I’m listening to the Untouchables album right now. To me a good album is one that takes you somewhere. The journey can be either long or short, meaningful or meaningless, but as long as it takes you somewhere it’s a journey. Some albums tend to go in circles, leaving you right back at where you began. Other albums, the good ones that I enjoy listening to, take you from point A to B.

So, if you’re in a bad mood and you listen to a good angry album, by the time the album’s over your mood is going to be different. Because by the time you reach the end you’re tired of feeling that way and usually the music relieves you of the stress and helps you loosen up. It has a sort of cathartic effect. Also the lyrics tend to help as well, but this is only if you actually listen, and I know most people don’t. And the same goes when you’re depressed. Music doesn’t reverse your mood. It takes you to the next logical location. So, if you’re in a good mood, it would probably get you high or just maintain that(depending on the album).

But you won’t always end up in a better mood and there are certain factors that decide this. One is how good the album is. If the album resolves itself by the end you’ll be fine, but if it just further complicates things – you’re fucked. Another factor is your willingness to let the music change your mood. If you’re in a bad mood and you want stay in it, you most probably will. Why would anyone want to be in a bad mood? How the fuck would I know? Go ask an emo. -.-

If you let yourself go and surrender to the music, a good album can take you places. Right now I feel quite relieved. Especially after Thoughtless played. I think I’m out of things to say about this. Alone I Break is playing right now. There’s still a few more songs to go. I’ll end this post with a video. The first time I saw this I found it a little disturbing, but as with most videos (especially Tool music videos) I develop an understanding after watching it a few times. I love this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbH47lfQBOs

Thoughtless by Korn

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why would anyone want to be in a bad mood? How the fuck would I know? Go ask an emo. -.-

    hehe good one 😀

    The Unsilent

    November 30, 2008 at 9:38 pm

  2. I agree with ya… people seek music to match their mood. The reverse just drives you nuts!

    Foxhound

    November 30, 2008 at 10:28 pm

  3. yeah i agree. the mood usually dictates the music for me too.

    T

    December 1, 2008 at 7:14 am

  4. I dunno, I have these moments where music does indeed change my mood significantly. Sitting on the 101 in rush hour traffic, I usually want to kill someone hunched rather miserably in my car. A couple of times U2, beautiful day has popped up on the radio….and there I am yelling out the lyrics with gusto and beaming like an idiot:)

    N

    January 16, 2009 at 9:18 am

  5. My mood defines my music for sure. 🙂

    gutterflower

    January 22, 2009 at 11:01 pm


Leave a Reply

